definition

love

 

When your heart has been through the wringer for someone and then burned alive at the stake, you tend to view love in a different way then the conventional “love story” way.

It has been almost 2 years since that happened to me, and I have to say, I have not thought of love in the same way as I did before.

In some ways, it has been a good thing…I have a more ‘grown-up’ conception of what love should and will feel like in the future.

However, I do not trust anyone at this point. Not myself, and certainly not anyone else.

That is what hurt does; Love can move mountains, but it can also cause chasms that seem boundless in their separation from anything resembling a romantic type of love.

Love is not rainbows and glitter and breathlessness anymore.

I define love as intangible, unimaginable, and elusive.

Perhaps that will change, but the chapter on love is closed for these moments in time.

 

3 thoughts on “definition

  1. We learn much from our hurts. Love is not just about the romance, but friendship, simple companionship, lots of compromise and learning when to lean on one another and when to carry one another. And true love will endure the worst life throws at you both because you stand together. I went through a lot of duds before I met my husband and had all but given up. Sometimes, it happens when we least expect it.

Leave a Reply

