Comfort Zone

pen and paper

I have arrived at a truth about myself; namely, I am not able to write “happy” poetry; at least not very well.

On some level, I find that fact a bit disturbing.

But how can I when words like ‘morose’ and ‘melancholy’ are adjectives that I relate to on a very personal level?

I have been through personal tragedy,(although frankly, who hasn’t) and as a result, I conspire to dip into the darkness and let it saturate my words.

I live there now, in that cesspool of swirling turgid blackness, full of sinister shadows.

It wasn’t always that way….

However, do not fear.

I also have a sprightly side, but really, it is much more soothing and exhilarating to convey the experience I have of my feelings entrenched in regret, sorrow and loss.

… maybe I just relate more accurately to the multitude of varied ways a soul can suffer.

And I must confess, that it is too easy and cliche to describe love and life in glowing terms.

Life isn’t that way most times.

It’s dirty and messy and raw.

I think that is the most apt term for life; raw.

It may appear that each moment is realized and complete, but in actuality, it is merely an unfettered glimpse into a wrinkle of what we call “humanity”and “living”.

-AndiM

 

4 thoughts on “Comfort Zone

  1. Spot on … I just don’t do happy when I write poetry. I think I can count on one hand. Maybe. Life is always messy, and therein lies the beauty.

    • Most definitely.
      I will leave the ‘skipping through the meadow’ poems for another writer. The way I see it is that true happy moments are fleeting and temporary, but the real essence of who we are and how we experience life is all the hard work in between those moments.
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts. πŸ˜‰

  2. I like that analogy … lol. Amen to that! Thank YOU for sharing yours. πŸ™‚

    There are writers who can pen the most beautiful, joyous poems and I sometimes envy them that ability in a world filled with so much ugliness. But I am too compelled to pick apart that ugliness and write about it to do otherwise, if that makes sense.

    • Makes sense. πŸ™‚ I feel the same…the layers and depth to the emotions that make up the human in emotional upheavals is to say the least, intriguing. What’s more astounding is how every person reacts differently.

Leave a Reply

